You Ask! We Count!

Number of wrathful deities

How many wrathful deities are there?


In Sanskrit, the wrathful deities are known as dharmapalas, which means “defender of the dharma”.  There are 8 wrathful deities.  It is interesting to know that these eight wrathful deities can be worshipped as a group of “Eight Terrible Ones”.  The wrathful deities are represented by Lha-mo, Tshangs-pa Dkar-po, Beg-tse, Yama, Kubera, or Vaisravana, Mahakala, Hayagriva and Yamantaka.  Keep in mind that worship of the wrathful deities was initiated in the 8th century by the magician-saint Padmasambhava.

This fact is verified on : November 6, 2013.

Leave a Response