You Ask! We Count!

Number of Texas counties

How many Texas counties are there?


It is important to know that Texas has 254 counties.  Not too many people know that Texas was originally divided into municipalities, a unit of local government under Spanish and Mexican rule.  It is interesting to know that each county is run by a commissioner court, consisting of four elected commissioners.  Keep in mind that the county is responsible for providing essential services.  Here are some of the Texas counties: Armstrong, Archer, Austin, Aransas, Bailey, Bandera, Bee, Bell, Bowie, Brown, Callahan, Cass and Chambers County.

This fact is verified on : December 6, 2013.

Leave a Response