You Ask! We Count!

Number of Philippine dialects

How many Philippine dialects are there?

120 to 175

Keep in mind that Philippine languages are often referred to by Filipinos as dialects.  It is important to know that there are some 120 to 175 languages in the Philippines.  Not too many people know that almost all are Malayo-Polynesian languages.  It is interesting to know that Spanish was the original official language of the country for more than three centuries.  Moreover, under the U.S. occupation and civil regime, English began to be taught in schools.  Dicamay Agta, Katabaga, Tayabas Ayta and Villaviciosa Agta are no longer spoken.

This fact is verified on : January 8, 2014.

Leave a Response