You Ask! We Count!

Number of KIR genes

How many KIR genes are there?


It is extremely interesting to know that the KIR gene family consists of 15 gene loci (KIR2DL1, KIR2DL2/L3, KIR2DL4, KIR2DL5A, KIR2DL5B, KIR2DS1, KIR2DS2, KIR2DS3, KIR2DS4, KIR2DS5, KIR3DL1/S1, KIR3DL2, KIR3DL3).  Needless to say, there are also two pseudogenes, KIR2DP1 and KIR3DP1, encoded within a 100-200 Kb region of the Leukocyte Receptor Complex (LRC) located on chromosome 19.  Not too many people know that KIR genes vary in length from 4 to 16 Kb.  Moreover, they contain 4 to 9 exons.  It is interesting to know that there are three types of KIR genes: type I KIR2D genes, type II KIR2D genes and KIR3D genes.

This fact is verified on : December 30, 2013.

Leave a Response