You Ask! We Count!

Number of Asian Countries

How many Asian countries are there in the world?


There are 50 countries and territories that make up Asia, according to the United Nations Statistics Division. The Asian continent is further subdivided into 6 regions, namely Central Asia (5 countries), Eastern Asia (7 countries), Southeast Asia (11 countries), South Asia (9 countries), and West Asia (18 countries). Interestingly, the U.N. does not list Taiwan in its list of Asian countries.

This fact is verified on : February 21, 2010.

Tagged as: ,

Leave a Response