You Ask! We Count!

Number of agencies in the federal government

How many agencies are there in the federal government?


According to the website, there are 456 agencies in the federal government. A government or state agency represents a permanent or semi-permanent organization in a federal system. The agency is responsible for the administration of specific functions.  The agencies are different from the departments of a ministry.  Most of the cases, these agencies have executive functions.  It is important to know that most federal agencies are created by Congress.  The role of an agency is mentioned through a statute.

This fact is verified on : May 15, 2013.

Leave a Response